Pentax 14 Megapixels Optio S1 5x Zoom Review by StevesDigicam


Sony 16.2MP NEX-C3 Interchangeable Lens Camera Review by AmateurPhotographer


80out of 100

Canon 16 Megapixels PowerShot A3300 Review by TechRadar

2011-06-11 14:36 | Source
769 reviews
On January 5 2011, Canon announced the expansion of the popular PowerShot A-series with four new compact models, the PowerShot A3300 IS, A2200, A1200 and A800. The A3300 IS, A2200 and A1200 cameras will have 720p HD video, 32-predefined shooting situations in the advanced Smart AUTO feature, and Creative Filters. There is a new Discreet Mode that capture a photo without unnecessary sound (auto-focus assist beam, sound & flash are turned off) for taking photos of a sleeping baby or a wedding ceremony. The A1200 comes with an Optical View Finder, while the PowerShot A2200, A1200, A800 cameras feature Blur Reduction, helping to reduce image distortion. There are two new shooting scenes in the Creative Filter option - Toy Camera and Monochrome. Toy Camera Effect adds a grainy, blurred look to soften photos, illustrating an old-school, 1960's appearance and Monochrome mode attaches black-and-white, blue or sepia tones to images, displaying a more classic, antiqued appearance.

Succeeding the A3100 IS at the top of the PowerShot A-series, the Canon PowerShot A3300 IS is slim and stylish with a solid metal chassis. It features a 16 Megapixels CCD sensor with a 5x Optical Zoom with Optical Image Stabilizer, a wide angle 28-140mm equivalent lens and 3.0-inch LCD screen. It is available in five vibrant colors - grey, red, blue, silver and pink colors. The PowerShot A3300 IS is currently selling at around $156 (drop from $159 about a month ago). Here's the summary of review by TechRadar, giving the camera a rating of 4 out of 5:

"Results from the A3300 IS are very pleasing overall, with colours looking vibrant, yet remaining true-to-life rather than looking over-saturated. The Auto white balance mode produces pretty accurate and consistent results under most forms of lighting, although we found a tendency towards warming images up a little too much under tungsten. Manually selecting the correct white balance setting from the menu rectifies things quickly however. Noise is non-existent at the low-end of the A3300 IS' sensitivity range, but it starts to appear at ISO 400, causing some colour shifts and loss of detail above this point. That said, results are still usable at ISO 800 - which isn't bad for a camera of this class. The 5x optical zoom lens performs well, with little in the way of distortion to comment on, but we did notice some softening of detail around the edges of the frame, particularly at the far end of the zoom range. The PowerShot A3300 IS is the type of camera that will appeal to people looking for a general purpose camera to photograph days out with their family and social event etc. It's easy to use and can be trusted to survive being passed to the younger members of the family.

We liked: If you're looking for a reasonably-priced, no-fuss digital compact that offers a few unexpected frills for your hard-earned cash, then look no further.

We disliked: The LCD is the only feature that reveals any form of cost-cutting on Canon's part (and it's still not at all bad). Otherwise we'd like a higher capacity battery (currently around 230 shots per charge), but that's about all there is to complain about.

Conclusion: Considering the number of high-spec features this camera has - namely its 16mp sensor, 5x optical zoom and HD video mode - the A3300 IS is very reasonably priced. As such, it's likely to be of great appeal to anyone looking for a user-friendly compact that offers just that little bit extra. With an intuitive user interface, good selection of exposure modes, decent build quality and the ability to produce very pleasing stills and movies, there's a lot going for this low-priced PowerShot."


ManufacturerCanonCanonPanasonic
ModelPowershot A3300 ISPowershot A3100 ISDMC-FH5
StyleSimple and EasySimple and EasyUltra Compact
Megapixels16.012.116.1
LCD Screen3.0-inch TFT Color (wide viewing angle type) with 230,000 dots2.7-inch TFT color LCD with 230,000 dots2.7-inch TFT Screen LCD Display (230,000 dots)
Memory CardsSD/SDHC/SDXC Memory Card, MultiMediaCard, MMCplus Card, HC MMCplus CardSD/SDHC/SDXC Memory Card, MultiMediaCard, MMC Plus Card, HC MMC Plus Card70MB Built-in Memory, SD Memory Card, SDHC Memory Card, SDXC Memory Card
Resolution4608 x 3456 (Large), 3264 x 2448 (Medium 1), 1600 X 1200 (Medium 2), 640 x 480 (Small), 4608 x 2592 (Widescreen)Still Image: 4000 x 3000 (Large), 3264 x 2448 (Medium 1), 2592 x 1944 (Medium 2), 1600 x 1200 (Medium 3/Date Stamp), 640 x 480 (Small), 4000 x 2248 (Widescreen), Low Light 1600 x 12004:3 Aspect Ratio: 4,608 x 3,456 pixels (16M), 3,648 x 2,736 pixels (10M EZ), 2,560 x 1,920 pixels (5M EZ), 2,048 x 1,536 pixels (3M EZ), 640 x 480 pixels (0.3M EZ) 3:2 Aspect Ratio: 4,608 x 3,072 pixels (14M) 16:9 Aspect Ratio: 4,608 x 2,592 pixels (12M)
File FormatsStill Image: Exif. 2.3 (JPEG) Video: MOV (Image data: H.264; Audio data: Linear PCM (monoaural))Still Image: Exif 2.2 (JPEG) Movie: AVI (Image: Motion JPEG; Audio: WAVE (Monaural))Still Image: JPEG (DCF / Exif 2.3) Motion Picture: QuickTime Motion JPEG
Focal Length5x zoom, 5.0 (W) - 25.0 (T) mm (35mm film equivalent: 28 (W) - 140 (T) mm)4x zoom, 6.2 (W) - 24.8 (T) mm (35mm film equivalent: 35-140mm)4x zoom, f = 5 - 20 mm (28 - 112 mm in 35 mm equiv.)
Shutter Speed1 - 1/1600 sec. 15 - 1/1600 sec. (Total shutter speed range)1 - 1/1600 sec. 15 - 1/1600 sec. (Total shutter speed range)Still: Approx. 8 - 1/1,600 sec Starry Sky Mode: 15, 30, 60 sec
Aperturef/2.8 (W) - f/5.9 (T)f/2.7 (W) - f/5.6 (T)F3.1 - 6.5 / 2-step (F3.1 - 9.0 (W) / F6.5 - 20 (T))
ISO SensitivityAuto, ISO 80 / 100 / 200 / 400 / 800 / 1600 equivalent Low Light: ISO 400-6400Auto, ISO 80 / 100 / 200 / 400 / 800 / 1600 equivalentI.ISO / 100 / 200 / 400 / 800 / 1600 High Sensitivity (1600 - 6400)
White Balance SettingsAuto, Daylight, Cloudy, Tungsten, Fluorescent, Fluorescent H, CustomAuto, Daylight, Cloudy, Tungsten, Fluorescent, Fluorescent H, CustomAuto / Daylight / Cloudy / Shade / Incandescent / White Set (Selectable at Portrait, Soft Skin, Transform, Self Portrait, Sports, Baby, Pet, High Sensitivity, High-speed Burst, Pin Hole, Photo Frame, High Dynamic)
Flash ModesAuto, Red-eye Reduction, Auto Red-eye Correction, Flash On, Flash Off; FE Lock, Slow Synchro, Smart FlashAuto, Red-eye Reduction, Auto Red-eye Correction, Flash On, Flash Off; FE lock, Slow Synchro, Smart FlashAuto, Auto / Red-eye Reduction, Slow Sync. / Red-eye Reduction, Forced On, Forced Off
Flash Range12 in. - 13 ft. (W), 1.6 - 6.6 ft. (T) (30cm - 4.0m (W), 50cm - 2.0m, (T))30 cm - 4.0 m (W), 30 cm - 2.0 m (T) (12 in. - 6.6 ft., 12 in. - 13 ft. (T))0.4 - 3.3 m (Wide / I.ISO), 1.0 - 1.6 m (Tele / I.ISO)
Shooting ModesP, Live View Control, Auto, Easy, SCN1, Creative Filters2, Discreet, Movie3P, Auto, Easy, Portrait, Landscape, Night Snapshot, Kids & Pets, Indoor, SCN**, MoviePortrait, Soft Skin, Transform, Self Portrait, Scenery, Panorama Assist, Sports, Night Portrait, Night Scenery, Food, Party, Candle Light, Baby1, Baby2, Pet, Sunset, High Sensitivity, High-speed Burst, Flash Burst, Starry Sky, Fireworks, Beach, Snow, Aerial Photo, Pin Hole, Film Grain, High Dynamic (Standard, Art, B&W), Photo Frame
Maximum Movie ResolutionHD: 1280 x 720 640 x 480 320 x 240Standard: 640 x 480 (30 fps (32min.26sec.)/ 30 fps LP (1hr.2min.51sec.)), 320 x 240 (30 fps (1hr.31min.25sec.))4:3 Aspect Ratio: VGA: 640 x 480 pixels, 30 fps (Motion JPEG) QVGA: 320 x 240 pixels, 30 fps (Motion JPEG) 16:9 Aspect Ratio: HD Movie: 1,280 x 720 pixels, 24 fps (Motion JPEG)
Maximum Movie Frames Per Second30 fps, 6/3/1.5 fps (miniature Effects)30 fps30/24 fps
Maximum Movie DurationDepends on storageUp to 4GB or 1 hourMax. recording time depends on memory card capacity, max. 2 GB for a motion picture
Macro Focus1.8 in (3cm) (W) - 1.6 ft. (50cm) (T)3 - 60 (W), 30 - 60 cm (T) (1.2 in. - 2.0 ft. (W), (12 in. - 2.0 (T)) Wide 5 cm (0.16 feet) - infinity / Tele 100 cm (3.27 feet) - infinity
MeteringEvaluative, Center-weighted average, SpotEvaluative, Center-weighted average, SpotIntelligent Multiple
Image StabilizationYes, OpticalYes, OpticalYes, MEGA O.I.S. (On / Off)
Self TimerApprox. 10-sec delay/approx 2-sec delay/customApprox. 10-sec delay/approx 2-sec. delay/custom2 sec / 10 sec
Video Out (TV Playback)YesYesYes, AV Output (NTSC)
Batteries1. Battery Pack NB-8L 2. Compact Power Adapter CA-DC10Battery Pack NB-8L, AC Adapter Kit ACK-DC60Li-ion Battery Pack (3.6V, Minimum: 660 mAh) (Included)
Dimensions3.74 x 2.23 x 0.94 in. (95.1 x 56.7 x 23.9mm)97.2 x 58.2 x 28.1mm94.3 x 53.5 x 18.8 mm (3.7 x 2.1 x 0.7 inch)
Weight4.60 oz./130 g155g104 g (0.23 lb)
Other InfoContinuous Shooting Approx: 0.8 shots/sec. (In P Mode) Approx. 2.5 shots/sec. (In Low Light Mode)Continuous Shooting Mode Hi-speed Burst Mode: Approx. 4.4 frames / sec (recorded in 3M for 4:3, 2.5M for 3:2, 2M for 16:9) Approx. 15-100 shots.
Release Date2011-01-052010-01-052011-01-05

Canon Powershot A3300 IS Sample Photos on Flickr



Canon Powershot A3300 IS Camera Reviews Roundup


MacWorld - Sep 14 2011
"In our lab's subjective tests for image and video quality, the Canon PowerShot A3300 IS fared very well for a low-priced camera. It earned a score of Good for both exposure quality and color accuracy, and a score of Very Good in the areas of sharpness and distortion. The A3300 IS's built-in flash is especially well tuned, producing evenly exposed images wit..." More »
60out of 100
Pocket-lint - Jul 30 2011
"As this isn't a camera that's about manual features or true photographic control, Auto mode, or rather here "Smart Auto" dominates proceedings. This compares scenes and subjects before the lens with no fewer than 32 on-board settings, and, using the likes of face/subject detection technology by way of identification, pretty competently selects the..." More »
70out of 100
CNET US - May 11 2011
"For its sub-$180 price, the A3300 IS is capable of turning out some excellent photos. But, as with most compacts, this really depends on how much light you have--the more, the better. Fine detail and sharpness are very good up to ISO 200 (though a little sharpening with photo-editing software improves things). Photos get noticeably softer at ISO 400 due to..." More »
70out of 100
Imaging Resource - Apr 29 2011
"It's gotten to the point that when I see a 14-megapixel camera, I think I'm not going to have any fun reviewing the thing. In low natural light I'm either going to get unacceptable levels of noise or Impressionist-like noise reduction that wipes out any detail. So when I saw the A3300 with its 16-megapixel sensor, I thought of taking my first vacation..." More »
Not Rated

Canon Powershot A3300 IS Reviews Roundup [Total 11 Reviews] »



Canon Powershot A3300 IS Camera Recent User Reviews

This camera is awesome., Evelyn1979 - Mar 23 2014
I overall like the camera. The only reason why I gave it a 4 star was because it had a pretty big ding in the front. I did purchase it used and it works for my needs. I like that the rechargeable battery seems to last forever. The seller did take a loooong time to ship....


This camera is awesome., Evelyn1979 - Mar 23 2014
Verified Purchase ( I overall like the camera. The only reason why I gave it a 4 star was because it had a pretty big ding in the front. I did purchase it used and it works for my needs. I like that the rechargeable battery seems to last forever. The seller did take a loooong time to ship....


It deserves no stars, J. Capobianco - Mar 01 2014
I collect cameras and have been a photographer for 30 years(check out my other reviews). Canon should be embarrassed with this piece of plastic garbage! The sensor gives a gritty image(too many megapixels) the lens has trouble giving a uniform image because the plastic fragile zoom mechanism can,t stay straight when zooming and in my case, it broke right off its track and now can't f...


ok, Darla K. Duley - Feb 25 2014
Canon Power Shot started out to be an ok camera. after a couple month pictures became very blurry and I quite using it....


More Canon Powershot A3300 IS User Reviews »


DSLR Photography Latest Posts