Panasonic DMC-FZ70 16.1 Megapixel Extended Zoom Reviews Roundup

On July 18 2013, Panasonic announced the Lumix DMC-FZ70 60x SuperZoom compact camera (aka FZ72 in Europe). The camera matches the Canon PowerShot SX50 HS, Sony Cyber-shot DSC-HX300, and Fufjifilm FinePix SL1000 in terms of telephoto reach at 1,200mm, but its 20mm wide-angle field captures a wider perspective than any of those cameras can manage. The DMC-FZ70 featuers a 1/2.3-inch CMOS image sensor, 16.1 Megapixels High Sensitivity MOS sensor, a 20-1,200mm f/2.8-5.9 (35mm equivalent) lens with image stabilization, Venus Engine image processor, eye-level EVF with 202k dots, 1,920 x 1,080 60i (NTSC) / 50i (PAL) full-HD video recording in AVCHD or MP4 format, 3-inch rear LCD with 460k dots, hot shoe, built-in flash and stereo microphone.

The DMC-FZ70 comes with the LUMIX DC VARIO 20mm ultra wide-angle lens with a 60x optical zoom (35mm camera equivalent: 20-1200mm). The lens is comprising of 14 elements in 12 groups, including 6 aspherical lenses with 9 aspherical surfaces and 3 ED (Extra-Low Dispersion). The 20mm ultra wide angle lens captures approx. 140% wider angle of view compared with a 24mm angle of view. It can support high speed burst shooting at 9 fps in full resolution and the Light Speed AF to catch the most fleeting shooting opportunities together with the quick start-up time of approx. 0.9 sec. A variety of special effects are also integrated - Creative Panorama, Creative Control and Creative Retouch featuring a total of max. 15 filter effects. The DMC-FZ70 is listed for $399.99.

Panasonic DMC-FZ70 Sample Photos on Flickr



Panasonic DMC-FZ70 Camera Reviews Roundup


Pocket-lint - Dec 17 2013
"If you're after a big zoom at a fair price then the Panasonic Lumix FZ72 has a lot going for it. Premier to its feature set is that massive 20-1200mm equivalent zoom which offers more range than the competition out there. In practice we found above the 1000mm equivalent to be a bit too soft, but it was rare we needed to max out the zoom. Even so, none of th..." More »
80out of 100
Reviewed - Nov 29 2013
"If you're looking for extremely accurate colors, this camera can hang tough with some of the better DSLRs out there. That's certainly impressive, but it's one shining result in a sea of mediocrity. In practice, the FZ70 leaves a lot to be desired in many areas, and many of its shortcomings can be directly attributed to that monster zoom. Cramming a 60x zoom..." More »
75out of 100
What Digital Camera - Oct 21 2013
"The race between manufacturers, or rather between their respective marketing departments, to sell more cameras by printing ever bigger numbers on the box, has led to some impressive technical innovation over the years, with incredibly high-resolution sensors and ever-more-powerful zoom lenses. However this has not always resulted in better cameras. Small ov..." More »
83out of 100
ePhotoZine - Oct 19 2013
"Detail is good at both ends of the lens, there is a little purple fringing but it is generally kept to a minimum. To get the sharpest pictures possible when using the lens at its longest you're well advised to use a tripod if possible. The lens has a minimum focusing distance of just 1cm, this allows you to get really close for excellent macro shots. Noise..." More »
90out of 100
NeoCamera - Oct 17 2013
"The Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ70 is a feature-rich ultra-zoom with the widest field-of-view and longest zoom of any fixed-lens camera. Its 60X optical zoom offers dependable image-stabilization and a previously unseen 20-1200mm equivalent range. This versatility is both highly practical and fun. Inside the FZ70 is a high-resolution 16 megapixels CMOS senso..." More »
75out of 100
Trusted Reviews - Oct 16 2013
"The first area of consideration when it comes to the FZ72's image quality performance has to be the camera's lens. When you cram such an extended focal range in to one retractable optic there are always fears about overall image quality, but the Panasonic Lumix FZ72 avoids the worst pitfalls. Although it doesn't excel in one particular area - be it its 20mm..." More »
70out of 100
Photoxels - Oct 06 2013
"The Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ70 packs a punch in a DSLR-styled digital camera with features that should appeal to everyone and especially two groups: travel photographers who want to capture shots ranging from 1 cm macro closeups, to wide vistas and super tele shots; and beginner students of photography who need a camera with all the important manual functions..." More »
Not Rated
Photography BLOG - Aug 22 2013
"The Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ72 is a very pleasant camera to use. It feels solid in your hands and responds well to commands. The zoom is fast without being too fast that you miss where you want to be. Focusing is super fast, and the start-up time is brilliant. We got some great shots using the camera for the short time we had it. As with any camera that has a..." More »
90out of 100
Imaging Resource - Jul 18 2013
"Panasonic appears to have just lapped everyone in the superzoom camera race -- at least in terms of zoom range -- by offering a whopping 60x optical zoom with an equivalent range of 20 to 1,200mm in the just announced Panasonic FZ70. While that's not a longer telephoto reach than, say, the Canon SX50, which also can zoom out to 1,200mm, the FZ70's zoom rang..." More »
Not Rated

DSLR Photography Latest Posts




 
403 user reviews


User Review of the camera - Panasonic DMC-FZ70

  • 2014-07-19 07:00
    Saves carring a lot of gear, JackV "J. A. Vitello"
    Verified Purchase(
    I bought this camera to use when I need a wide to tele travel camera. It works great and I don't have to carry extra len's and equipment like I do when i use my Canon 70D. With all the features The Pansonic has I can shoot in any condition.
  • 2014-07-17 07:00
    Delighted with this product!! .. Buy one & go out and take some amazing photos, Renita "Flo"
    Verified Purchase(
    Exactly what I wanted..and Panasonic delivered... I am a rank Amateur and don't pretend to KNOW everything about cameras but I do know what I like and don't like.
    That said... I so wanted a LONG LENS camera but knew the traditional DSLR's were more than I could handle.. too heavy and too many lens to carry .. so I have been buying bridge cameras but wanted one with a SUPER long LENS.
    .. I had bought a Panasonic in the past and was very pleased with it.. since then have bough Canon's, Fuji's and Samsungs... but there s something about the FEEL of this camera in my hand that makes me SMILE.. it fits perfectly... Button's are were they are suppose to be and easy to access.. The camera fits into a standard camera case... and not a lot of extra's are needed to make this an amazing tool.
    The onboard menu is easy to understand.. and MAKES SENSE.. it follows logical progression... something I don't often do but other might but it has some great in camera EDITING... options.
    The weight of this camera is nominal.. easy to handle and carry either around you neck or in a sm camera bag.
    As I previous said it fits my hand well....that is one thing I leaved from buying a variety of cameras from various makers.. If it doesn't feel good in you hand as SOON as you pick it up.. it will never feel comfortable.. no matter what..
    ..... One thing the camera does NOT have is wifi access.. I easily solved that with a EYE FI Mobi SD card.. ( works PERFECTLY)...not knowing how well I might like it I go the sm size a 8 gig and .. Honestly that is wonderful.... you can transfer you photos as soon as you take them to a tablet or cell phone.. and NO WI FI SIGNAL IS NEEDED... but this isn't what your interested in...
    ....... The camera has some surprising and easy to use features that I was UNAWARE of when I bought it... I has a very easy to sue Panorama option...... and it has a 3D option to use while taking videos.. ( you can only use this if you view your 3D pictures on a tv w 3 D capabilities ) but it is something I was not aware that it could do..
    ....... Videos are NICE... bright and clear and sounds has definitely been improved over my previous Panasonic.
    Lots of creative filters to try out but you can completely let the camera do all the heavy lifting for picture taking if you don't want to MESS with all those setting.. the auto modes on this camera do a bang up job.
    Honestly... I can't say that I want or NEED anything else on this camera... other than the missing wifi access which I easily solved.. for me this camera is a Perfect Match..
    I got a great MONO pod to use when taking the LONG Telephoto shots... and a few lens filters.. and I am totally SET
    I am delighted with this product and Highly recommend it .
    ....... Buy one and go out and take some amazing photos .. your friends and family will be Shocked and Delighted
    .
  • 2014-07-15 07:00
    man its great!, Brian Fowler
    Got it for work, man its great!
  • 2014-07-14 07:00
    LUMIX DMC-FZ70, End Uzer "EndUzer"
    Incredible zoom which allowed me to capture poster-worthy images of the craters on this recent Supermoon, even w/o the benefit of a tripod.
    Curious to see now if it will pull into focus these Drones in the NW skyline -
  • 2014-07-14 07:00
    Excellent camera, Joseph Gilson
    Verified Purchase(
    Excellent camera for the price point. Even at max zoom, the auto focus can compensate for my hands, the pictures are very clear and crisp, and it does pretty decent video too.
  • 2014-07-12 07:00
    Panasonic LUMIX DMC-FZ70 16 1 mp digital camera with 60x optical zoom, whippersnapper
    Verified Purchase(
    To fully enjoy the use of this camera, YOU NEED TO READ THE MANUALS, BOTH OF THEM. YOU NEED TO DOWNLOAD THE ADVANCED MANUAL AND READ IT. This camera has amazing capabilities. The zoom capabilities without reverting to the use of the digital zoom are awe-inspiring. The Intelligent Zoom is better than a digital zoom, and it extends the zoom capabilities to more than the 60x figure. I have used both. The intelligent zoom will give you a photo with fewer megapixels, but the distortion common to digital zooming is missing. Since you're starting with 16.1 mp, you can well afford to reduce the mp for the purpose of getting a long shot, but you don't even have to do that if you use the zoom attachment you can purchase with the adapter.
    I also have the adapter for the zoom attachment and the close-up attachment. I was using a FZ100, and the same accessories work. For the record, you can use the regular zoom AND the intelligent zoom with the telephoto attachment which allows you to get magnificent zoom capabilities without using a digital zoom.
    This camera also has good wide angle capabilities as well - at least as wide as I ever want. It doesn't do fisheye.
    It has macrofocusing down to 1 mm AND macro zoom focusing, which is delightful and will enlarge the subject. And I have the close-up attachment as well, although so far the macro zoom has produced pictures I'm happy with, so I haven't used it. .
    It has many different focusing choices. You need to see what they are and see which one works for you. The flexible focus is my favorite. Uses a bit more battery, but it is faster continuous focus than the one labeled continuous focus. This is why you have to read the directions. There is also manual focus. And standard focus.
    They have skimped on not making the vewing screen moveable to different angles. If you want to take a time exposure, you mght want to use the timed shutter release to avoid camera movement, since there is no input for an external shutter button. And yes, those things would have been nice, BUT I couldn't afford the camera if they hadn't kept the price down. This is a hobby of mine, not a profession.
    This is one whopper of a camera for the price. I think they economized in the right places and spent the money on the best kind of image stabilization that you can get - a necessity if you are going to use such a zoom.
    I have set my camera to limit the shutter speeds (found in the camera menu settings) so that it can't automatically go to too slow a speed. Panasonic recommends a tripod -- and it's very true that a good tripod helps - but ninety nine percent of the time, when I want a photo, I either don't have my tripod with me, or it's not set up -- so I am handholding shots that should be on a tripod -- because the deer will leave -- or the birds or small animals are active -- I'm often taking a walk, and I use the zoom to photograph wild flowers I can't get close to without getting into poison ivy or some such thing.
    My advice for handheld shots is to use the shutter speed limit, so the shutter speed can't go too slow on you. I often use shutter priority, risking the shot being too dark, but there is also an option in the setup stuff. Often, even if a picture is too dark, you can improve it with software.
    The camera also had editing capabilities, but I use Corel's software on my PC.
    I take LOTS OF PHOTOS. If you think you can't hand hold the camera, snap as many photos as you can, and try. Hold your breath and get your elbows close to your sides -- really - it steadies you -- or find something to lean on, if possible, and do your best. Sometimes it doesn't work, but often if I take a lot of photos, at least a couple of them will be sharp, because I snapped the picture at just the right moment.
    The beauty of digital photography is that you don't have to pay for your flops. You can just delete them, and keep the good ones.
    This is not a professional photographer's camera, although I would bet that pros would have one whopper of a good time with it. But I don't have the money to buy a pro's camera, nor do I have the ability to carry the camera equipment I used to -- nor do I have the money to spare for excessive film and processing.
    SO I am as happy as a hog in a mud waller with this camera. It take good pictures. As with any camera, you need to get used to this particular one. I have a particular combination of metering and exposure that I usually use -- you could vary your choices to suit yourself, BUT YOU WON'T DO THAT IF YOU DON'T DOWNLOAD THE ADVANCED MANUAL AND READ IT.
    I went to the trouble to print out the manual, because I studied it in odd places in order to cover the information. It is convenient to have it on your computer, too, but I wanted a print out. I printed it one section at a time.
    This is a wonderful camera for the money. If I could afford the setup the National Geographic photographers use, I wouldn't be able to carry it anyway. This camera is a great deal of fun, and if you will take the time to master the vast number of choices you have available, you will surely enjoy it.
    I highly recommend it.
  • 2014-07-11 07:00
    The super zoom ability is a great plus if (for example) ..., Wayne
    Verified Purchase(
    Don't buy this camera expecting the same clarity (sharpness) of a $700 camera. The super zoom ability is a great plus if (for example) your kid is in a show at school and you can't get a photo from the 26th row without a powerful zoom. For most amateur photographers (like myself) who need a good point-and-shoot camera, this one is a winner.
  • 2014-07-09 07:00
    Nice camera, Mayo
    Verified Purchase(
    Great camera! Nice photo quality
  • 2014-07-08 07:00
    Awesome zoom!, Brian
    I really love this camera because of the zoom. 60x!! It's amazing! You always have to use it with a tripod, else the picture will be blurry with such high zoom. I would have given it a 5star if not for the size. It's a bit big and not very suited for travelling/
    For a well balanced camera with good quality and zoom, you may consider the following sony model
    http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00CDIK48U/ref=as_li_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=390957&creativeASIN=B00CDIK48U&linkCode=as2&tag=justckem-20
  • 2014-07-05 07:00
    Great Camera with a super long lens!, R. Vankleek
    Verified Purchase(
    this camera is AMAZING! I can't say enough about how many beautiful shots I have taken with it. Last night I tried it out at the 4th of july fireworks. I got some beautiful shots! it's way technical and I know very little about anything other than the Auto menu, but I am very happy with the results. The idiot button works! happy, happy, happy!!!
  • 2014-06-29 07:00
    Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ70, Audrey
    Verified Purchase(
    Bulkier and heavier than expected but it takes very good pictures and people comment on the clarity of it's long reach. Movies are also very good.
  • 2014-06-29 07:00
    Very good pictures for single Len camera, Tuan A Nguyen
    Verified Purchase(
    Easy to use
    Good pictures
    Single Len Convenience. Zooming feature is the best of all.
    No camera or delivery issues to date.
    For the price, This is a good and convenient camera to have
  • 2014-06-28 07:00
    Third Lumix, Terry
    Verified Purchase(
    This is my third lumix. These products perform. I had a much older version of this one which I loved but let the family borrow it to go whale watching. There were several versions of the story but all indications are that the camera hit the deck hard. Never quite worked after that. I use the camera for work so I replaced it quickly with one of the smaller Lumix cameras. It was wonderful and I used it daily for the past 3 years. But I have large hands and yearned for the larger model. This new camera has several advantages over the smaller Lumix's and it's predasesser as well.
    The image stabilizer is terrific. I'm a Real Estate Appraiser and I buzz past recently sold houses and listed houses while I snap a picture. My photos come out beautifully. I use many pictures in my appraisal files and require very small picture files - thumbnails really. Well this camera easily adjusts the picture size down, then back to larger files later for family shots. That's the other thing - I also bought this camera to update my video camera. The motion picture button is a great convenience and while I've only used it a couple times so far, it appears to produce great video. I pop up the flash for house interiors and get great results. Sometimes it does this thing where it takes multiple images then combines them into one. Then it makes you wait a sec while it saves that. I'd just assume it just flash since the resulting pics are just ok - so that's one thing. But then I put down the flash and work outside and the camera transitions beautifully. One last thing - the optical zoom works well.
    Some appraisers are using their iPhones and putting the pics right into the file. That's pretty kool and I get that. But using a real camera still gets a way better result than a phone. I'm sticking with my Lumix.
  • 2014-06-25 07:00
    Great value, rare 20mm wide angle plus super 60x zoom...all in one camera!, Bron "Bron"
    Panasonic FZ70 review
    There are many reviews here already, so I will just give some of my impressions based on a few days of use. I may come back and update more as I have more time with this camera.
    First, if your expectations are reasonable, I think most will be happy with this camera. At under $300 currently, it delivers great value. It has a rare 20mm wide angle at the short end and the 60X zoom at the long end (plus extended zoom modes for even more reach). The 20mm wide angle was a big draw for me as I shoot a lot of landscape stuff. It works well for that and also for interior shots. Sharpness is not an issue and color is very accurate, better than average for sure. The zoom seems fine as well. Bit harder to shoot at the long end, of course, but hand held shots can be done, which is amazing at that focal length. Of course, a tripod is great if you can use one along with the timer (since there is no remote release). You lose a bit of contrast at the long end and some softness, but that is to be expected and the overall results at normal viewing sizes are good. Of course there are some issues if you "pixel-peep" at the image 1:1 on your screen, but that's not how the image is going to be viewed. For normal viewing, the images look fine and should print fine. Haze can actually be an issue with the long zoom, but that is true with any zoom in this range. You will need to brace properly or use a tripod for best results, but in a pinch, handheld can be done, the OIS works well.
    The FZ70 is a bit bigger than I expected, but there's a lot of lens to house, so understandable. It is fairly light and the design is good, a good grip and feels balanced. All the controls are well placed. Panasonic has been making these things forever, so they really have that down pat. The screen seems fine for this price range, the EVF is good enough for composing images and is a big plus in bright sunlight. Plus I like using the viewfinder for stability when shooting long (bracing the camera against your face helps stabilize it). Build quality seems good. Yes, it's a bit "plasticky" but at these prices, that's fine. Still feels fairly sturdy.
    The FZ70 focuses quickly and well and renders tones smoothly. Tests shots of clouds were better than average in that regard as compared to many compacts and P&S models. Color is very good. Noise control seems well done at lower ISO's and is usually not noticeable in casual viewing. In low light, you will see it, of course, but it is fairly well controlled even then under 800 ISO. Certainly fine for this price range and intended uses. There are many modes available, some actually useful, and some interesting in-camera editing capabilities for those who wish to do that. Lots of choices and customization's available. The iA and iA+ modes seem to work pretty well, The scene modes seem fine. All in all the camera has met my expectations so far and I am happy with it. Giving it 4 stars for now based on value delivered and good performance. May come back and raise that to 5, but not enough experience yet to go there. Big thing is, this is a lot of camera for $300 bucks or so, and that 20mm wide end is pretty rare and a nice plus on top of that long zoom.
  • 2014-06-22 07:00
    Love love loveeeeee, Frank Moricz
    Verified Purchase(
    This is SO easy to use. I was nervous when I received it because my camera experience has been a smartphone. The instructions are easy! I am ever so pleased with this purchase and the photo quality is AMAZING.
  • 2014-06-21 07:00
    No or limited date stamp function, Ronald C. Ward "r"
    Bought this specifically because we have hinders of pics throughout the years that we are not sure of when they were taken. To fix this I bought this because it says it has a date stamp function. Problem the only function on the camera that does date stamp is the manual setting. So as a point-shoot camera in automatic mode you are out of luck. Plus pic quality is not as sharp as my wife's $90.00 Canon camera.
  • 2014-06-19 07:00
    Good, but not as great as competitors, Kyle
    Verified Purchase(
    Owned for a few weeks now. Used almost exclusively for nature photography, ranging from close ups of insects to distance shots of birds.
    The FZ70 does many things well: it has a great zoom, the buttons for control of the features are easy to reach, even when your eye is pressed to the viewfinder (after a bit of practice), and has enough stabilization to allow sharp, handheld photos at full optical magnification. The manual focus control isn't nearly as good or as quick as a ring, but will get the job done if your subject will stay still. It's not a macro camera by any means, but I've been happy with butterfly photos taken far enough away to not startle the insect.
    That being said, comparing to my partner's Canon SX50, a few limitations have made themselves clear. The first, and most obvious, is the difference in digital zoom. Pushing the magnification beyond the optical limitations, the FZ70's quality deteriorates much, much more rapidly than the Canon. For distant shots of eagles, the Canon still looks crisp while the FZ70 becomes fuzzy. This holds for both for automatic and for various manual settings. The screen and viewfinder also aren't quite up to par, which makes determining perfect focus or reviewing photos a bit more of a challenge.
    At the time of this review, the FZ70 is also $100 cheaper than the Canon SX50, which certainly played into my purchasing decision. It is a very good camera, but I wouldn't say it's the best in its class.
  • 2014-06-17 07:00
    This camera exceeded my expectations, Mohamed Hussein ElBerry
    Verified Purchase(
    the zoom for this camera is great with a high focus and you can take photos in any light conditions and the photos will still be sharp and clear , i have bought this camera to take with me on a vacation and i have made the correct choice when buying this camera
  • 2014-06-16 07:00
    Surprisingly excellent than expected, Ama "Samona"
    I did not expect a zoom camera has such good image.
    Zoom range is one thing, the stabilization is good too.
    better than expected
  • 2014-06-15 07:00
    review by Larry Ponziani, Larry Ponziani "Marathoner"
    Verified Purchase(
    This is the best camera have ever had. it uses a MOS sensor which is much more accurate and clear than CMOS that is used everywhere. (GOOGLE MOS VS CMOS). the 60x lens with image stabilization is amazing. you will hear the little stabilization motors running when it is zoomed out. it has great wide angle at the other end. the battery lasts way longer than any point and shoot. it has dozens of modes to shoot under. I bought a 64gig chip for it.
    Don't hesitate to get this camera. I did lots of research and comparisons and this one wins hands down. I am an electrical engineer ... total geek and nurd.
    larry ponziani