Panasonic DMC-FZ70 16.1 Megapixel Extended Zoom Reviews Roundup

On July 18 2013, Panasonic announced the Lumix DMC-FZ70 60x SuperZoom compact camera (aka FZ72 in Europe). The camera matches the Canon PowerShot SX50 HS, Sony Cyber-shot DSC-HX300, and Fufjifilm FinePix SL1000 in terms of telephoto reach at 1,200mm, but its 20mm wide-angle field captures a wider perspective than any of those cameras can manage. The DMC-FZ70 featuers a 1/2.3-inch CMOS image sensor, 16.1 Megapixels High Sensitivity MOS sensor, a 20-1,200mm f/2.8-5.9 (35mm equivalent) lens with image stabilization, Venus Engine image processor, eye-level EVF with 202k dots, 1,920 x 1,080 60i (NTSC) / 50i (PAL) full-HD video recording in AVCHD or MP4 format, 3-inch rear LCD with 460k dots, hot shoe, built-in flash and stereo microphone.

The DMC-FZ70 comes with the LUMIX DC VARIO 20mm ultra wide-angle lens with a 60x optical zoom (35mm camera equivalent: 20-1200mm). The lens is comprising of 14 elements in 12 groups, including 6 aspherical lenses with 9 aspherical surfaces and 3 ED (Extra-Low Dispersion). The 20mm ultra wide angle lens captures approx. 140% wider angle of view compared with a 24mm angle of view. It can support high speed burst shooting at 9 fps in full resolution and the Light Speed AF to catch the most fleeting shooting opportunities together with the quick start-up time of approx. 0.9 sec. A variety of special effects are also integrated - Creative Panorama, Creative Control and Creative Retouch featuring a total of max. 15 filter effects. The DMC-FZ70 is listed for $399.99.

Panasonic DMC-FZ70 Sample Photos on Flickr



Panasonic DMC-FZ70 Camera Reviews Roundup


Pocket-lint - Dec 17 2013
"If you're after a big zoom at a fair price then the Panasonic Lumix FZ72 has a lot going for it. Premier to its feature set is that massive 20-1200mm equivalent zoom which offers more range than the competition out there. In practice we found above the 1000mm equivalent to be a bit too soft, but it was rare we needed to max out the zoom. Even so, none of th..." More »
80out of 100
Reviewed - Nov 29 2013
"If you're looking for extremely accurate colors, this camera can hang tough with some of the better DSLRs out there. That's certainly impressive, but it's one shining result in a sea of mediocrity. In practice, the FZ70 leaves a lot to be desired in many areas, and many of its shortcomings can be directly attributed to that monster zoom. Cramming a 60x zoom..." More »
75out of 100
What Digital Camera - Oct 21 2013
"The race between manufacturers, or rather between their respective marketing departments, to sell more cameras by printing ever bigger numbers on the box, has led to some impressive technical innovation over the years, with incredibly high-resolution sensors and ever-more-powerful zoom lenses. However this has not always resulted in better cameras. Small ov..." More »
83out of 100
ePhotoZine - Oct 19 2013
"Detail is good at both ends of the lens, there is a little purple fringing but it is generally kept to a minimum. To get the sharpest pictures possible when using the lens at its longest you're well advised to use a tripod if possible. The lens has a minimum focusing distance of just 1cm, this allows you to get really close for excellent macro shots. Noise..." More »
90out of 100
NeoCamera - Oct 17 2013
"The Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ70 is a feature-rich ultra-zoom with the widest field-of-view and longest zoom of any fixed-lens camera. Its 60X optical zoom offers dependable image-stabilization and a previously unseen 20-1200mm equivalent range. This versatility is both highly practical and fun. Inside the FZ70 is a high-resolution 16 megapixels CMOS senso..." More »
75out of 100
Trusted Reviews - Oct 16 2013
"The first area of consideration when it comes to the FZ72's image quality performance has to be the camera's lens. When you cram such an extended focal range in to one retractable optic there are always fears about overall image quality, but the Panasonic Lumix FZ72 avoids the worst pitfalls. Although it doesn't excel in one particular area - be it its 20mm..." More »
70out of 100
Photoxels - Oct 06 2013
"The Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ70 packs a punch in a DSLR-styled digital camera with features that should appeal to everyone and especially two groups: travel photographers who want to capture shots ranging from 1 cm macro closeups, to wide vistas and super tele shots; and beginner students of photography who need a camera with all the important manual functions..." More »
Not Rated
Photography BLOG - Aug 22 2013
"The Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ72 is a very pleasant camera to use. It feels solid in your hands and responds well to commands. The zoom is fast without being too fast that you miss where you want to be. Focusing is super fast, and the start-up time is brilliant. We got some great shots using the camera for the short time we had it. As with any camera that has a..." More »
90out of 100
Imaging Resource - Jul 18 2013
"Panasonic appears to have just lapped everyone in the superzoom camera race -- at least in terms of zoom range -- by offering a whopping 60x optical zoom with an equivalent range of 20 to 1,200mm in the just announced Panasonic FZ70. While that's not a longer telephoto reach than, say, the Canon SX50, which also can zoom out to 1,200mm, the FZ70's zoom rang..." More »
Not Rated

DSLR Photography Latest Posts




 
189 user reviews


User Review of the camera - Panasonic DMC-FZ70

  • 2014-04-12 07:00
    Great camera--great price!, Purple Rose of Wamego
    This is a very good camera in all respects, and great value for the money. It could use a vari-angle lens, but that's about my only suggestion at this point.
  • 2014-04-11 07:00
    great, Terri L Poynter
    I will give an A for this item! Works great and just love it !Would recommend it to anyone! Great!
  • 2014-04-10 07:00
    Excellant Camera, Gary M.
    This is an amazing piece of technology for the price. It can take brilliant photo and video, well beyond my expectations. Great battery life and easy to use controls.
  • 2014-04-09 07:00
    good, jose martinez
    hi.. this camera is amaizing , very easy to use and the 60x zoom is wonderfull i need more time for review the many options to use
  • 2014-04-03 07:00
    Solid camera. Love the zoom., Lisa Martin
    Use it daily for newspaper photography. Adequate shutter speed. Feels good. Lots of fun. Primarily I leave it on intelligent auto focus, and have no worries. Good point and shoot.
  • 2014-04-02 07:00
    Amazing, CO GIRL
    This is more camera than I've ever used. I love it so much. Last week I had to travel for business and I shot through the water into the sand and got a clear view of the shore. I also shot a fast moving creek and it stopped the action with the water in motion. If you are just starting your time as a serious photographer I would heartily recommend this camera. If you're unsure of setting it will do it for you, if you want to experiment you can do that too. I did look into bridge cameras and this particular was rated number one on several consumer sights. Enjoy yourself. So much fun and such a big reward. I'm hooked. When I figure out how, I'll include some of the photos I've taken.
  • 2014-03-25 07:00
    Disappointed, Photogal
    The camera does have good zoom power but the picture quality is not what I had expected. It is also difficult to get clear focus when using the zoom.
  • 2014-03-23 07:00
    Happy, happy, happy with my Lumix FZ70!, Friar Tuck
    Went to Grapefruit League spring training games - bright Florida sunlight!! Took great photos using max zoom from right field with no tripod. Also some great bird shots using mid tele in overcast situation - still great photos! Easy to use, great features - I recommend this camera for telephoto work without extra lenses! Great for vacationers.
  • 2014-03-22 07:00
    Lower the Noise Reduction Setting for Sharper Pics, A. Scales
    Initially, bird pics were soft. Lowering the Noise Reduction setting to -2 gives more sharpness and detail but still with good noise control. If needed, noise reduction is done in pp. I really like the rendering in the FZ70 pics. It doesn't have the fast lens and other features of my FZ200, but noise control is better, IMO, so you can use higher ISOs. Also, compared to the FZ200, iZoom performs much better, fewer artifacts, very usable pics. The camera focuses very fast. A great birding camera.
    I do wish it had an articulating screen, remote shutter socket, larger buffer, but you can't have everything at this price.
  • 2014-03-20 07:00
    Excellent Bridge Camera for Amateurs and "Semi-Pros", Kyle
    My wife and I had been in the market for some time for a high-quality, relatively easy-to-use camera that would be especially great for non-professionals like us who like taking quality travel/nature photos and has good zoom. We did not want to jump into the DSLR arena, but wanted to get shots as-close-as-possible. After painstakingly researching media and reviews for all of the latest models in this category, I couldn't pass up the deal on this Lumix FZ70.
    I have to say, I feel this camera is one of the best value purchases I've ever made. First of all, the exterior fit, finish, and feel inspire immediate confidence, as the materials used and weightiness of the device exude quality. Not chintzy at all. I tested and compared the Canon SX50 in-store, and while that is also a very capable camera, the Lumix just feels and looks so much more high-quality in person. Secondly, the ease of use and capability of taking great photos right out of the box, especially in iAuto mode was astonishing. We were immediately taking awesome photos of our pets up close, and distant birds and squirrels out in the yard on full 60X zoom, with nice bokeh effect and great color and quality. If the lighting outdoors leaves something to be desired, some of the quick post-processing effects can be implemented to immediately color-up, sharpen, brighten, etc to produce beautiful images with little effort. Image stabilization is top-notch, as I have been able to take several long-zoom outdoor shots without a tripod with ease, just using simple technique tricks like using the viewfinder while bracing elbows against the body, etc. Auto-focus is fast and accurate, burst shooting mode is also wonderful, as it greatly increases your odds of getting that perfect shot without any noticeable extra effort on your part.
    Although I know there are many reviews that nit-pick on various things such as indoor photo quality, my use of the camera indoors has produced very good results, with a nice flash that doesn't wash out pictures at all. I feel that for the average user who wants to shoot photos above the capabilities of the average point-and-shoot that appear 'professional' to 95% of viewers, you can't go wrong with this camera. I have an aging Canon PowerShot SD1100IS small handheld that has taken some amazing photos for me through the last several years, and this Lumix FZ70 with its amazing zoom capabilities is the perfect natural progression to the next level. At this price point, you can't go wrong. Highly recommended!
  • 2014-03-20 07:00
    Should be illegal!!!, Ben Johnson "creativity lover"
    A quick, short review is all that is needed. This is a bridge camera and not a dslr so with that in mind, this camera for the money is the best you can do. I have had lots of bridge cameras from all makes (even the Canon SX50 which is a very good camera, but with crazy set up controls and too small), but this one beats them all taking the cost into account. The zoom is phenomenal especially if you set the camera to 7MP and put it on a tripod. This zoom should be illegal!! Or you can shoot at the 16MP and go to 60x and get a great shot. Sure it has some weak points like no tilting LCD, but every camera has its weak points. IQ clarity is a strength for this camera. With the price it is selling for on Amazon, I should buy another one.
  • 2014-03-20 07:00
    Excellent Camera, ladymac
    Just ordered, and received it in 1 day. The camera is everything if not more than I expected, the quality is tops. Photos are superb. Love the 3D settings, the panorama settings, everything. I had a Canon SX50 HS before this, even though the pics were good and I hated the handling of it, sold it and bought this one. This one is tops in my books.
  • 2014-03-19 07:00
    Looks Good to Me!, John T. Jones
    I read from one reviewer that he did not like the images. My concern was focus. Side dug out my window mount because you must have a steady mount if you're going to take pictures at high magnification. Now in the book it says something about pushing the button halfway down and the focus button. I haven't got the hang of that yet, so I will have to read the book. But just using the camera like I did with my old Panasonic, pushing the capture button down halfway until I see the green image box, I got some pretty good pictures. I also got some out of focus pictures because I was fiddling around trying to use that focus button. Like I say, I got to go back to the manual.
    I learned that I can use the 60 X manual focus but that I'm not restricted to that. I noticed that I could get up to 120 X digital .
    I was worried about buying this camera because of the battery. I gave my other Panasonic to my granddaughter because when I'm birding,I don't want a dead battery. So let not have problems with this, I ordered to back up batteries.
    I did not buy a new memory card because I had one. That food in the camera and after four shots, it said the card was full. Well it only had four shots on. I have put back in the camera level tested again but it looks like I will be buying a new card.
    I'll let you know how things go for me.
    John
  • 2014-03-19 07:00
    Very happy, Bryan C Bopp
    Great so far, awesome zoom, good quality and sharpness; still playing with some of the features. I've gotten some great bird shots and compliments on a close up of the moon.
  • 2014-03-19 07:00
    Great Shots for less Money, Kathy
    I miss my Nikon horribly but I do enjoy this little gem for about half the price. The pictures were very comparable to my Nikon Coolpix 500. I also like the fact I can attach an awesome zoom lens for very close and personal pictures. I can also attach a wide angle lens for panoramic shots. The only thing that truly disappoints me is that it does not automatically shut its self off. User beware and remember to bring several extra batteries for long photo shoots.
  • 2014-03-17 07:00
    Great Camera!, Shaun Lux
    This Camera is great. If you are looking for a solid affordable camera for advanced picture taking this is the one. There are tons of reviews out there so I won't dive into too much detail. I will just say it is worth it!
  • 2014-03-17 07:00
    Quality point-and-shoot camera that is easy to use!, David J.
    PROS:
    - easy to use, right out the box
    - battery life better than expected
    - great value @ $279.00 from Amazon
    - lens cover & neck strap are good quality
    - on-screen details help when using function dial
    - transfer cable & software included
    - sharp photos with crisp colors
    - the impressive zoom feature works smoothly
    CONS:
    - Only one. The software provided for video replay is on a free-trial basis , and then must be purchased ($80+). Perhaps there is a free shareware option, but it is unfortunate that free software is not included for video, like it is for photos.
    ALSO:
    - BE SURE TO PURCHASE A CLASS 10 DATA CARD, OR YOU WILL BE DISAPPOINTED WITH THE CAMERA's PERFORMANCE.
    - Understand that 60x zoom is significant, and best used with the stability of a bipod/tripod.
    * * * I am very satisfied with this camera and would recommend the Panasonic LUMIX DMC-FZ70 to friends and family without hesitation.
  • 2014-03-15 07:00
    present, bonbon
    i bought this as a birthday present and my husband keeps telling me how great this camera is. i do know the zoom lens is very good
  • 2014-03-11 07:00
    Good and well built camera needing small tweaks., AU
    Good camera for all around outdoor use. Better if optical image stabilization at higher zoom levels was improved. Could also be improved in low light autofocus locking on at higher zoom levels in incandescent lighting. All other functions mostly very good for price range. Overall nice camera with many excellent features.
  • 2014-03-10 07:00
    WONDERFULL!!!, Janpar
    JUST CAME BACK FROM TRIP. THIS CAMERA IS AMAZING. MUCH TO LEARN BUT THE AUTOMATIC SETTING CAN DO MOST OF WHAT IS NEEDED. PICTURES AND VIDEO AT THE SAME TIME. VERY FAST FOCUSING AAND FAST ZOOM.. PICTURE STABILIZED VERY WELL.