Samsung PL210 14.2 Megapixel Simple and Easy Reviews Roundup

Samsung today announces two new high zoom, wide angle digital cameras - the WB210 and PL210. The WB210 features a 14 Megapixels sensor, a 12x optical zoom lens with 21mm wide angle setting via the super wide shot mode, a large 3.5-inch touch screen with Samsung's new Smart Access UI system, all in a slim-line 22.4mm body.

The PL210 features a 14 Megapixels sensor, a large 3.0 LCD screen and a 10x optical zoom with 27mm wide angle lens in a body measuring just 19.7mm.

Both cameras feature Smart Filter 2.0 - the next generation in Samsung's special effect filter technology. Smart Fliter 2.0 gives users the opportunity to change the mood of their still images and movies with new modes including; Soft Focus for smoother looking images, Half Tone Dot effect for a unique dot patterned image, Old Movie for a retro style shot and an Enhanced Movie Filter to capture the unique feeling of a special day within your films. They can also support HD quality movie recording. The Samsung WB210 and PL210 will be available in February for $279.99 and $199.99 respectively.

Samsung PL210 Sample Photos on Flickr



Samsung PL210 Camera Reviews Roundup


Digital Camera Info - Oct 09 2011
"It's harsh to cal the Samsung PL210 a one-trick pony, especially when that one trick is the one thing that users seem to demand most from point-and-shoot cameras: optical zoom in a compact body. In that regard, the PL210 brings the goods, stuffing 10x optical zoom lens into a body that will slip into your pocket with relative ease. For such a slim lens..." More »
Not Rated
Photography BLOG - Jun 18 2011
"You can look at the Samsung PL210 in two ways. The first (and arguably the wrong) way is that this is a high spec camera full of top end features such as the 10x optical zoom in an ultra slim body, face recognition and the unique frames. If you look at it this way, the image quality isn't all that clever for the type of camera that this fits in with. T..." More »
80out of 100
ePhotoZine - May 25 2011
"The PL210 takes well exposed images with really good colour reproduction. When the lens is at its widest detail is better in the centre of the images and become slightly blurry in the corners. In the picture below there is some purple fringing in the trees. At its longest, again, detail is better towards the centre of the images but not as blurry in the cor..." More »
70out of 100
Steve's Digicam - May 03 2011
"Looking at our outdoor image samples from the PL210, we see an overall descent exposure and image quality. While the colors look good, the camera struggled with the overcast sky causing some overexposure. The corners of the images also appear to be rather soft. When looking at 100%, we can also see some image noise, which softens the finer details within th..." More »
Not Rated

DSLR Photography Latest Posts





Cameras In The Article
 
121 user reviews


User Review of the camera - Samsung PL210

  • 2014-07-14 07:00
    Great zoom range., frostno98
    Great camera with long range zooming capabilities. On one battery you should be able to get around 150-200 pictures, so you should probably carry a spare or two. Recently tested out the zoom range at the San Francisco Giants game. I was sitting literally at the highest part of the upper deck well from the home plate, and still got a clear picture of the batter on the diamond back. Although you get can only get 14mp at 10x, it's still capable of zooming up to 20x at 3mp. You can also use it as a camcorder to record video's at 720p and still use the zoom capabilities. It will drain your battery pretty quick on camcorder though. This is a very good point and shoot camera.
  • 2014-06-28 07:00
    Check out footage I shot, ken hatchett
    I was very surprised at the video and more so at the audio captured with this....here is a video I shot from about 200 yards away from the stage http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EDvSoEmGdrU
  • 2014-04-09 07:00
    EASY QUALITY, russell dunn
    Verified Purchase(
    Samsung made a big mistake by discontinuing this camera. Pound for pound, it is a fantastic point & shoot camera. The presets eliminate the need to worry less about f/stops, ISO's & apeture settings and worry more about properly framing the subject. The video quality for a point & shoot was superior than their later models. While shooting HD videos, it eats up memory but the Micro SD cards are relatively cheap so no worries there.
  • 2014-04-09 07:00
    EASY QUALITY, russell dunn
    Samsung made a big mistake by discontinuing this camera. Pound for pound, it is a fantastic point & shoot camera. The presets eliminate the need to worry less about f/stops, ISO's & apeture settings and worry more about properly framing the subject. The video quality for a point & shoot was superior than their later models. While shooting HD videos, it eats up memory but the Micro SD cards are relatively cheap so no worries there.
  • 2014-01-19 08:00
    Takes great photos!, David E. Sherman
    Verified Purchase(
    This is a great little camera. It's really only good for what I would call "snap-shots" as it doesn't zoom like a full sized DSLR but it's a heck of a lot more convenient as it fits in a pocket or my wife's purse! In photo-taking situations such as the Naval Aviation museum at Pensacola, I took photos with a DSLR and my wife used this Samsung. Her photos were just as good as mine. The DSLR will exceed the capabilities of this camera with landscapes, however.
  • 2014-01-19 08:00
    Takes great photos!, David E. Sherman
    This is a great little camera. It's really only good for what I would call "snap-shots" as it doesn't zoom like a full sized DSLR but it's a heck of a lot more convenient as it fits in a pocket or my wife's purse! In photo-taking situations such as the Naval Aviation museum at Pensacola, I took photos with a DSLR and my wife used this Samsung. Her photos were just as good as mine. The DSLR will exceed the capabilities of this camera with landscapes, however.
  • 2013-12-30 08:00
    Worst camera I have ever owned, NRN
    Verified Purchase(
    I bought this camera because I needed something simple for a trip to Paris. I already had another digital camera, but I thought this would be an upgrade. I was sooo wrong. The "automatic" mode sometimes causes delayed shutter (based on lighting) and totally blurs the pictures. I can't tell you how many pictures have been ruined by this. I was constantly retaking pictures and changing settings to get the best outcome. I've replaced it with a Nikon and I regret not doing this sooner.
  • 2013-12-30 08:00
    Worst camera I have ever owned, NRN
    I bought this camera because I needed something simple for a trip to Paris. I already had another digital camera, but I thought this would be an upgrade. I was sooo wrong. The "automatic" mode sometimes causes delayed shutter (based on lighting) and totally blurs the pictures. I can't tell you how many pictures have been ruined by this. I was constantly retaking pictures and changing settings to get the best outcome. I've replaced it with a Nikon and I regret not doing this sooner.
  • 2013-12-23 08:00
    nice camera for the price, NarbiClaire
    Verified Purchase(
    this is great for my tween as it fits in pockets yet still takes better than the average phone camera
  • 2013-12-23 08:00
    nice camera for the price, branwen
    Verified Purchase(
    this is great for my tween as it fits in pockets yet still takes better than the average phone camera
  • 2013-12-23 08:00
    nice camera for the price, branwen
    this is great for my tween as it fits in pockets yet still takes better than the average phone camera
  • 2013-10-24 07:00
    Amazing Product, Yeremy
    Verified Purchase(
    Fast, Worked excelent. No complaints about this samsung model. It is Excelente
    Good photos, good quality. I suggest this product .
  • 2013-10-24 07:00
    Amazing Product, Yeremy
    Fast, Worked excelent. No complaints about this samsung model. It is Excelente
    Good photos, good quality. I suggest this product .
  • 2013-10-02 07:00
    Samsung, Latreia
    Verified Purchase(
    My camera is nice, and it works well , never freezes up, like so many other cameras do now a days.
  • 2013-10-02 07:00
    Samsung, Latreia
    My camera is nice, and it works well , never freezes up, like so many other cameras do now a days.
  • 2013-08-09 07:00
    Samsung Digital Camera, In Due Time "Sicromoft"
    Verified Purchase(
    I bought this for my wife to carry in her purse because of it's slim, compact and lightweight. However it does not feel cheap. Most of the compact cameras we looked at had either a 3X, 4X or 5X zoom. The camera has a 10X optical zoom which works great and the video is not bad. When zoomed in, the video is a little shaky though.
    It uses a micro SD card and I bought her a class 6 card for better video quality. I wish it would have come with at least a slip cover or case so that I why I only gave it 4 stars.
    Battery life is not bad. Obviously the video eats it up, but it does much better than other cameras in this size and price range. It does not use a standard size battery though.
  • 2013-08-09 07:00
    Samsung Digital Camera, In Due Time "Sicromoft"
    I bought this for my wife to carry in her purse because of it's slim, compact and lightweight. However it does not feel cheap. Most of the compact cameras we looked at had either a 3X, 4X or 5X zoom. The camera has a 10X optical zoom which works great and the video is not bad. When zoomed in, the video is a little shaky though.
    It uses a micro SD card and I bought her a class 6 card for better video quality. I wish it would have come with at least a slip cover or case so that I why I only gave it 4 stars.
    Battery life is not bad. Obviously the video eats it up, but it does much better than other cameras in this size and price range. It does not use a standard size battery though.
  • 2013-08-02 07:00
    nice camera, Frederick Adarfio
    Verified Purchase(
    works fine, is a litle dificult to configurate, if you doesn't configure well the picture came blur . . .
  • 2013-08-02 07:00
    nice camera, Frederick Adarfio
    works fine, is a litle dificult to configurate, if you doesn't configure well the picture came blur . . .
  • 2013-07-10 07:00
    Looks cool but feels cheap and flimsy..., Jason Salmon "travel doc"
    Verified Purchase(
    very cool looking camera and pretty good zoom and picture quality but the body is actually cheap plastic and feels flimsy in your hands...you can spend the same amount of money and get something better for sure