Samsung PL210 14.2 Megapixel Simple and Easy Reviews Roundup

Samsung today announces two new high zoom, wide angle digital cameras - the WB210 and PL210. The WB210 features a 14 Megapixels sensor, a 12x optical zoom lens with 21mm wide angle setting via the super wide shot mode, a large 3.5-inch touch screen with Samsung's new Smart Access UI system, all in a slim-line 22.4mm body.

The PL210 features a 14 Megapixels sensor, a large 3.0 LCD screen and a 10x optical zoom with 27mm wide angle lens in a body measuring just 19.7mm.

Both cameras feature Smart Filter 2.0 - the next generation in Samsung's special effect filter technology. Smart Fliter 2.0 gives users the opportunity to change the mood of their still images and movies with new modes including; Soft Focus for smoother looking images, Half Tone Dot effect for a unique dot patterned image, Old Movie for a retro style shot and an Enhanced Movie Filter to capture the unique feeling of a special day within your films. They can also support HD quality movie recording. The Samsung WB210 and PL210 will be available in February for $279.99 and $199.99 respectively.

Samsung PL210 Sample Photos on Flickr



Samsung PL210 Camera Reviews Roundup


Digital Camera Info - Oct 09 2011
"It's harsh to cal the Samsung PL210 a one-trick pony, especially when that one trick is the one thing that users seem to demand most from point-and-shoot cameras: optical zoom in a compact body. In that regard, the PL210 brings the goods, stuffing 10x optical zoom lens into a body that will slip into your pocket with relative ease. For such a slim lens..." More »
Not Rated
Photography BLOG - Jun 18 2011
"You can look at the Samsung PL210 in two ways. The first (and arguably the wrong) way is that this is a high spec camera full of top end features such as the 10x optical zoom in an ultra slim body, face recognition and the unique frames. If you look at it this way, the image quality isn't all that clever for the type of camera that this fits in with. T..." More »
80out of 100
ePhotoZine - May 25 2011
"The PL210 takes well exposed images with really good colour reproduction. When the lens is at its widest detail is better in the centre of the images and become slightly blurry in the corners. In the picture below there is some purple fringing in the trees. At its longest, again, detail is better towards the centre of the images but not as blurry in the cor..." More »
70out of 100
Steve's Digicam - May 03 2011
"Looking at our outdoor image samples from the PL210, we see an overall descent exposure and image quality. While the colors look good, the camera struggled with the overcast sky causing some overexposure. The corners of the images also appear to be rather soft. When looking at 100%, we can also see some image noise, which softens the finer details within th..." More »
Not Rated

DSLR Photography Latest Posts





Cameras In The Article
 
79 user reviews


User Review of the camera - Samsung PL210

  • 2014-04-09 07:00
    EASY QUALITY, russell dunn
    Samsung made a big mistake by discontinuing this camera. Pound for pound, it is a fantastic point & shoot camera. The presets eliminate the need to worry less about f/stops, ISO's & apeture settings and worry more about properly framing the subject. The video quality for a point & shoot was superior than their later models. While shooting HD videos, it eats up memory but the Micro SD cards are relatively cheap so no worries there.
  • 2014-01-19 08:00
    Takes great photos!, David E. Sherman
    This is a great little camera. It's really only good for what I would call "snap-shots" as it doesn't zoom like a full sized DSLR but it's a heck of a lot more convenient as it fits in a pocket or my wife's purse! In photo-taking situations such as the Naval Aviation museum at Pensacola, I took photos with a DSLR and my wife used this Samsung. Her photos were just as good as mine. The DSLR will exceed the capabilities of this camera with landscapes, however.
  • 2013-12-30 08:00
    Worst camera I have ever owned, NRN
    I bought this camera because I needed something simple for a trip to Paris. I already had another digital camera, but I thought this would be an upgrade. I was sooo wrong. The "automatic" mode sometimes causes delayed shutter (based on lighting) and totally blurs the pictures. I can't tell you how many pictures have been ruined by this. I was constantly retaking pictures and changing settings to get the best outcome. I've replaced it with a Nikon and I regret not doing this sooner.
  • 2013-12-23 08:00
    nice camera for the price, branwen
    this is great for my tween as it fits in pockets yet still takes better than the average phone camera
  • 2013-10-24 07:00
    Amazing Product, Yeremy
    Fast, Worked excelent. No complaints about this samsung model. It is Excelente
    Good photos, good quality. I suggest this product .
  • 2013-10-02 07:00
    Samsung, Latreia
    My camera is nice, and it works well , never freezes up, like so many other cameras do now a days.
  • 2013-08-09 07:00
    Samsung Digital Camera, In Due Time "Sicromoft"
    I bought this for my wife to carry in her purse because of it's slim, compact and lightweight. However it does not feel cheap. Most of the compact cameras we looked at had either a 3X, 4X or 5X zoom. The camera has a 10X optical zoom which works great and the video is not bad. When zoomed in, the video is a little shaky though.
    It uses a micro SD card and I bought her a class 6 card for better video quality. I wish it would have come with at least a slip cover or case so that I why I only gave it 4 stars.
    Battery life is not bad. Obviously the video eats it up, but it does much better than other cameras in this size and price range. It does not use a standard size battery though.
  • 2013-08-02 07:00
    nice camera, Frederick Adarfio
    works fine, is a litle dificult to configurate, if you doesn't configure well the picture came blur . . .
  • 2013-07-10 07:00
    Looks cool but feels cheap and flimsy..., Jason Salmon "travel doc"
    very cool looking camera and pretty good zoom and picture quality but the body is actually cheap plastic and feels flimsy in your hands...you can spend the same amount of money and get something better for sure
  • 2013-05-21 07:00
    I love this camera!, E. Miller
    I have only had the camera for a few days but it is great. I took really clear video yesterday and have taken many still pictures that are extremely clear. I had a Nikon Coolpix camera that I replaced and this Samsung camera is 100 times better. I am happy that my 13 month old Nikon camera broke:)
  • 2013-04-08 07:00
    Long Battery life and good zoom, Nandlal Yadav
    This is the first Samsung digital cam i bought. It's a nice looking and easy to carry with long Battery life and good zoom.
  • 2013-04-05 07:00
    Already failed, gwrigh
    I bought this camera cause I already had another one just like it and had to have it repaired after a year and a half only because I dropped it. Wanted to have a back up just alike because I take pictures doing house inspections every day and this new camera has already failed after less than a year. Now I have to buy another back up. This camera may be good for occasional use but doesn't hold up to heavy use.
  • 2013-03-11 07:00
    Love it, Tammy
    Takes great pictures and it's small enough to fit in your pocket. The batteries last a long time.
    I took this camera on a 5 day cruise and only had to charge the batteries once.
    I would recommend this camera to a friend.
  • 2013-01-27 08:00
    Excellet Camera!, Jeffinner07
    I had a camera just like this one, sadly I accidentally left it at a zoo bathroom :(
    I LOVE the way this camera zooms and takes pictures, truly great!.
  • 2013-01-27 08:00
    Excellet Camera!, Jeffinner07
    I had a camera just like this one, sadly I accidentally left it at a zoo bathroom :(
    I LOVE the way this camera zooms and takes pictures, truly great!.
  • 2013-01-27 08:00
    Excellet Camera!, Jenniffer
    I had a camera just like this one, sadly I accidentally left it at a zoo bathroom :(
    I LOVE the way this camera zooms and takes pictures, truly great!.
  • 2013-01-24 08:00
    ooops, 77MARVIN
    forgot to rate this one. i absolutly love this camera! the zoom works very well and the battery holds a charge for a verly long time.
  • 2013-01-03 08:00
    It's OK, Terri Payne
    The camera arrived in excellent condition, but was a little unhappy with the picture quality. It is difficult to take pictures that are not blurry. If I use the settings to reduce shaking then I can't use any other settings. I wanted it to take pictures at a concert I attended and ended up only getting a few that were actually clear enough to see.
  • 2012-12-31 08:00
    Camera, tracie grant
    Great camera, thank your very much for quick shipment,, a great product, easy setup, easy use, good buy for the $$.
  • 2012-12-11 08:00
    Outstanding Performance!!, Mike G
    What an excellent little camera. I purchased this as a "like new" gift for my family because we didn't have one. They're about $150 brand new, so I took a chance on this one at $65.
    It looked brand new to me right out of the box, just like the seller stated it was. Well, my 12 year old daughter took one look at it and, without hesitation and reading the manual as I had instructed her, started going through the menus and checking out every type of shot available...to my surprise, after a few hours, she is now our resident expert on it and she is teaching me (her 45 year old dad) how to use it! One very important note: I purchased the optional 2 year coverage which covers it against failure and accidental damage for an outrageous $8! Making the entire investment worth every penny and then some...thank you AMAZON for doing business with Quality Photo, to the gals and guys at Quality photo, Huuuuurrrahhh for you! Mike G